Australia Skilled Visa Priority System to Replace Priority Migration Skilled Occupation List

Highlights: No PMSOL, but new deadlines are set for 13 categories of skilled visas for Australia.

  • Australia no longer processes some Australia skilled visa applications using the PMSOL (Priority Migration Skilled Occupation List).
  • A new ministerial directive has taken the role of PMSOL in determining the sequence in which skilled visa applications are processed.
  • Now, nominations for teaching or a healthcare profession will be given to qualified candidates first in the processing queue.

The mechanism for obtaining a skilled visa for Australia has recently undergone substantial adjustments. A new ministerial directive has taken the place of the PMSOL criterion for several categories of skilled visas. If you are interested in in-demand professions like healthcare and education, this change will be of interest to you.

What’s Different Now?

With the implementation of a new ministerial directive, the processing of applications for specific categories of Australian talent visas will no longer utilise PMSOL. The Ministry of Immigration in Australia issued this directive, which establishes the sequence in which such applications are processed.

Applications submitted by candidates nominated for teaching or healthcare employment now receive the utmost attention. This is especially true if the candidates are overseas when the application is submitted.

What is PMSOL?

The government of Australia has evaluated a list of skilled jobs called PMSOL (Priority Migration Skilled Occupation List) to meet the needs of the nation for vital talents. The objective is to help Australia’s economic growth during the COVID-19 epidemic.

Currently, PMSOL offers 44 skilled jobs.

What Areas Will the New Priority Affect?

The following situations will adhere to the new job category prioritisation:

  • Reviewing nomination and visa applications submitted for/by qualified sponsors in any profession.
  • Applications for employment Processing to be performed in a provincial area of Australia.
  • Administration of temporary and permanent visas to enhance the migration programme (barring Subclass 188 visas).
  • Any additional application processing.

The following visas will adhere to the new ministerial directive:

  1. Subclass 482 – Temporary Skill Shortage visa
  2. Subclass 191 – Permanent Residence (Skilled Regional) visa
  3. Subclass 189 – Skilled – Independent (Points-tested stream) visa
  4. Subclass 858 – Global Talent visa
  5. Subclass 494 – Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional (Provisional) visa
  6. Subclass 888 – Business Innovation & Investment (Permanent) visa
  7. Subclass 190 – Skilled – Nominated visa
  8. Subclass 887 – Skilled — Regional visa
  9. Subclass 187 – Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme visa
  10. Subclass 186 – Employer Nomination Scheme visa
  11. Subclass 491 – Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa
  12. Subclass 188 – Business Innovation and Investment (Provisional) visa
  13. Subclass 124 – Distinguished Talent visa

Australia’s Immigration Department is adamant about processing visa requests more quickly. By combining all objectives into a single new direction, the Department also hopes to clear up any uncertainty that may have arisen during the process.

The streamlined health standards for temporary visa applicants applying onshore are one of the changes.
Know more: https://immi.homeaffairs.gov.au/visas/getting-a-visa/visa-processing-times/skilled-visa-processing-priorities

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call now
for free consultation
Mail now
free consultation
Show Buttons
Hide Buttons
Translate »